Thursday, March 4, 2010

Academy Awards

Be sure to tune in this afternoon and tomorrow at 3pm for our final look at the Oscars 2010 nominees for best score. We were also happy to hear about these awards:
The American Academy of Arts and Letters announced today the sixteen recipients of this year's awards in music, which total $170,000. The winners were selected by a committee of Academy members: Robert Beaser (chairman), Bernard Rands, Gunther Schuller, Steven Stucky, and Yehudi Wyner. The awards will be presented at the Academy's annual Ceremonial in May. Candidates for music awards are nominated by the 250 members of the Academy.

Academy Awards in Music
Four composers will each receive a $7500 Academy Award in Music, which honors outstanding artistic achievement and acknowledges the composer who has arrived at his or her own voice. Each will receive an additional $7500 toward the recording of one work. The winners are Daniel Asia, David Felder, Pierre Jalbert, and James Primosch.

Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond Award
The Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond award of $10,000 is given to a promising mid-career composer. This year the award will go to James Lee III.

Goddard Lieberson Fellowships
Two Goddard Lieberson fellowships of $15,000, endowed in 1978 by the CBS Foundation, are given to mid-career composers of exceptional gifts. This year they will go to Philippe Bodin and Aaron J. Travers.

Walter Hinrichsen Award
Paula Matthusen will receive the Walter Hinrichsen Award for the publication of a work by a gifted composer. This award was established by the C. F. Peters Corporation, music publishers, in 1984.
Charles Ives Fellowships
Harmony Ives, the widow of Charles Ives, bequeathed to the Academy the royalties of Charles Ives' music, which has enabled the Academy to give the Ives awards in music since 1970. Two Charles Ives Fellowships, of $15,000 each, will be awarded to Anna Clyne and Michael Djupstrom.

Charles Ives Scholarships
Six Charles Ives Scholarships of $7500, given to composition students of great promise, will be awarded to Shawn Brogan Allison, Jesse Benjamin Jones, Eric Nathan, Clint Needham, Jude Vaclavik, and Roger Zare.

No comments: