Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Hear him in San Antonio

Great news about Olmos Ensemble member Warren Jones...well he is here every year, so he really is considered a member of Mark Ackerman's group:

Musical America, now in its third century as the indispensable resource for the performing arts, today announced the winners of the annual Musical America Awards, recognizing artistic excellence and achievement in the arts.

The announcement coincides with the publication of the 2010 Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts, which, in addition to its comprehensive industry listings, pays homage to each of these artists in its editorial pages.

The annual Musical America Awards will be presented in a special ceremony at Lincoln Center on December 14.

Warren Jones compares partnering soloists to playing doubles tennis because the endeavor has to be an equal relationship. Few collaborative pianists—a term now preferred to “accompanist”—have enhanced the performances of so many of the world’s greatest singers and instrumentalists. Among those benefitting from his nuanced, insightful, and virtuosic artistry are Marilyn Horne, Kathleen Battle, Samuel Ramey, Kiri Te Kanawa, and Stephanie Blythe. In soprano Ruth Ann Swenson’s words, “He’s one of the greatest musicians I’ve ever known. I trust him
See Warren this next Spring:
March 16, 2010
Four Hands, Four Voices
Anne Epperson, and Warren Jones, piano,
Linda Poetschke, soprano, Ken David Masur, baritone
mezzo soprano and tenor TBA

Franz Schubert, Auf dem Strom
Franz Schubert, Fantasie for piano, four hands
Johannes Brahms, Liebeslieder Waltzes

No comments: